January 24, 2017

Latest Stories:

Brain Sentry -

Thursday, September 3, 2015

The Chicago Bears -

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

SpaceX -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Duncan YoYo -

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The Childproof Container -

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Dick’s Sporting Goods -

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Smule -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Ernest Holmes Towing -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Deep River Snacks -

Thursday, January 29, 2015

7-Eleven -

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Weed Eater -

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Fleurville -

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Green Screen Animals -

Thursday, January 1, 2015

CLYNK -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Birds Eye Frozen Foods -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Izze Beverage Co. -

Monday, December 8, 2014

Izze Beverage Company -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

CuteTools -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

NCR Cash Registers -

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

David Barton Gym -

Monday, December 1, 2014

Skype Founder’s Words of Wisdom

Mobinode recently published some interesting advice that Skype co-founder Niklas Zennström had for young entrepreneurs. Zennström provides six pieces of advice. As I read them, I found some striking similarities to our Why Didn’t I Think of That? Axioms. This, to me, is confirmation that many of the principals we talk about here and on the show are ones that any aspiring entrepreneur would be wise to take to heart.

As the disclaimer on the Axioms page reads: “There are no hard and fast rules for finding inspiration. But most successful entrepreneurs followed one of these paths.”

So here are Zennström’s words of wisdom and, where applicable, a corresponding Why Didn’t I Think of That? Axiom.

Skype co-founder Niklas Zennström

1) Think Big.

2) Do it differently – never simply copy what the others are doing.

Our version of this is Axiom number 10: Think unique. Intentionally go against the grain. Though Axiom number 8 is equally relevant: Think “tried and true” and make it new.

3. Try to address the pain point of the consumer: if your products or services can solve an existing problem for your customers, they will certainly like it.

Axiom Number 1: Rethink your industry. Chances are you know there’s a better way your industry could serve its customers.

As well as Axiom Number 9: Use a bad experience to create a better business. Adverse conditions often inspire “work around” solutions that others could use (e.g. Lasermonks).

4) Changing environment is important – when there are changes in the environment, when the established rules are breaking down, there are more opportunities for new comers.

Axiom Number 5: Open your eyes to new trends.

5) Team – pick the right team to execute the idea.

6) Investor – pick the right investor, too.  Find one with the same risk-appetite and ambition.  Find one who works well for you.

So there you have it. Words of wisdom from the co-founder of Skype, one of the most popular voice/video chat programs around today, on what it takes to be a successful entrepreneur. Check out our Axioms page for more helpful advice.

What are your words of wisdom? Any entrepreneurs out there, aspiring or otherwise, who’d like to give their two cents?

Thanks for reading. Follow us on Twitter @whydidnti and @thinkofthat.

Related Posts: