February 25, 2017

Latest Stories:

Brain Sentry -

Thursday, September 3, 2015

The Chicago Bears -

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

SpaceX -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Duncan YoYo -

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The Childproof Container -

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Dick’s Sporting Goods -

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Smule -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Ernest Holmes Towing -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Deep River Snacks -

Thursday, January 29, 2015

7-Eleven -

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Weed Eater -

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Fleurville -

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Green Screen Animals -

Thursday, January 1, 2015

CLYNK -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Birds Eye Frozen Foods -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Izze Beverage Co. -

Monday, December 8, 2014

Izze Beverage Company -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

CuteTools -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

NCR Cash Registers -

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

David Barton Gym -

Monday, December 1, 2014

Collapsible Fishing Rods, Heated Forests, and the iPad 2

Have a look at this bizarre little invention. It’s a fishing rod that collapses down to the size of a pen. I found it on an article at Mashable about businesses that have used videos to catapult their products and services into public awareness.  According to the article:

Michael Di Pippo is the inventor of the “world’s smallest fishing rods and reels.” About the size of a large pen, the rods telescope out to reveal a 5’3″ of fully functional fishing rod. Based out of New York, the company has four full-time employees and distributors worldwide.

Di Pippo decided to use video, specifically YouTube, to give product demos and preview his product because there was a built-in market, it was free, and he was able to add tags like “Fishing,” “Camping,” and “Outdoors” to give his videos more reach. “If you can make a product look like it’s fun, effective and great in a video, it would be enough to make other people want to join in and make videos with your product,” Di Pippo said. “To date there are more than 100 videos on YouTube made by happy customers from all over the globe using my products.”

Here’s a video of the product (pardon the low quality):

As Di Pippo explains in the article, his video spawned tons of other, user-submitted videos, everyone demoing his product. Talk about a free promotion! That’s one of the perks of A) Having a visually engaging product, and B) Having your video go viral. Of course, with these things, you never know what will stick and what won’t.  Di Pippo’s “Pen Rod Extreme” stuck. So what do you think? What would be other products suited to becoming the next Youtube phenomenon?

In other news- Apple has released a new version of the iPad. I’ve written about it on a new blog I’ve helped start called The Heated Forest. Check it out when you get a chance, but check back here on Friday and we can talk tech. The new iPad is slimmer, faster, and a little bit closer to “making the grade,” in my humble opinion.

Related Posts: