January 24, 2017

Latest Stories:

Brain Sentry -

Thursday, September 3, 2015

The Chicago Bears -

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

SpaceX -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Duncan YoYo -

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The Childproof Container -

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Dick’s Sporting Goods -

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Smule -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Ernest Holmes Towing -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Deep River Snacks -

Thursday, January 29, 2015

7-Eleven -

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Weed Eater -

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Fleurville -

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Green Screen Animals -

Thursday, January 1, 2015

CLYNK -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Birds Eye Frozen Foods -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Izze Beverage Co. -

Monday, December 8, 2014

Izze Beverage Company -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

CuteTools -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

NCR Cash Registers -

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

David Barton Gym -

Monday, December 1, 2014

Diners’ Club

Diners Card

This billion-dollar industry had an embarrassing beginning. Learn how a missing wallet changed the world. The story of Diner’s Club – the word’s first credit card.

What they do:
Invented the modern day credit card.

Inspiration:
Frank McNamara was having dinner at one of his favorite Manhattan restaurants. When the bill came, his wallet was nowhere to be found. He’d left it in his other suit. His wife was able to cover for him, but McNamara vowed never to be caught without cash again. So he invented the credit card.

About the business:
The Diners’ Club Card was the world’s first multi-purpose charge card. Until then, charge cards had only been issued by department stores and hotel chains for exclusive use at their establishments. Two years after founding Diners’ Club, McNamara was bought out by department store heir Alfred Bloomingdale. Within 7 years, American Express and Bank of America were on board with their own credit cards. The world of commerce would never be the same.

Related Posts: