December 6, 2016

Latest Stories:

Brain Sentry -

Thursday, September 3, 2015

The Chicago Bears -

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

SpaceX -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Duncan YoYo -

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The Childproof Container -

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Dick’s Sporting Goods -

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Smule -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Ernest Holmes Towing -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Deep River Snacks -

Thursday, January 29, 2015

7-Eleven -

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Weed Eater -

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Fleurville -

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Green Screen Animals -

Thursday, January 1, 2015

CLYNK -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Birds Eye Frozen Foods -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Izze Beverage Co. -

Monday, December 8, 2014

Izze Beverage Company -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

CuteTools -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

NCR Cash Registers -

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

David Barton Gym -

Monday, December 1, 2014

Dunlop Tires

Dunlop-tires-logo

A little boy, a veterinarian, and a tricycle inspired this invention. Learn how a bumpy ride led to the first air-filled tires for automobiles!

What they do:
Pioneered pneumatic (air-filled) tires for all types of self-propelled vehicles.

Inspiration:
In February 1888, British veterinary surgeon Jonn Boyd Dunlop wanted to cushion his young son’s bumpy tricycle ride. His family physician suggested filling sheet-rubber with air – creating similar to the air-filled mattresses used in hospitals.

About the business:
Dunlop developed and patented the first practical pneumatic (inflatable) tire — which was a hit with bicyclists. By 1891, he was manufacturing 3,000 a week. Five years later he began making his tires for automobiles. More than a century later, Dunlop remains a leading global brand of auto, truck and airplane tires.

 

Related Posts: