December 6, 2016

Latest Stories:

Brain Sentry -

Thursday, September 3, 2015

The Chicago Bears -

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

SpaceX -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Duncan YoYo -

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The Childproof Container -

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Dick’s Sporting Goods -

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Smule -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Ernest Holmes Towing -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Deep River Snacks -

Thursday, January 29, 2015

7-Eleven -

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Weed Eater -

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Fleurville -

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Green Screen Animals -

Thursday, January 1, 2015

CLYNK -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Birds Eye Frozen Foods -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Izze Beverage Co. -

Monday, December 8, 2014

Izze Beverage Company -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

CuteTools -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

NCR Cash Registers -

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

David Barton Gym -

Monday, December 1, 2014

Johnson Controls

johnson-controls

Learn how a $40 billion dollar company was inspired by a cold classroom and a frustrated college professor. Hear the story behind zoned heating and the first electric thermostat.

What they do:
Made the first room temperature control system.

Inspiration:
In 1880, Professor Warren Johnson taught science and math in Whitewater, Wisconsin. In the winter, he hated having his classes constantly interrupted by the janitor who was always doing temperature checks so he could adjust the dampers in the basement. The disruption inspired him to create a bimetal electric thermostat that would signal to the janitor which dampers to open and close in the basement.

About the business:
Five years after his invention, the early version of Johnson Controls was launched. Today, the $40 billion global technology and industrial leader serves customers in over 150 countries. In addition to two other industries – their core industry remains temperature controls.

Related Posts: