February 25, 2017

Latest Stories:

Brain Sentry -

Thursday, September 3, 2015

The Chicago Bears -

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

SpaceX -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Duncan YoYo -

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The Childproof Container -

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Dick’s Sporting Goods -

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Smule -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Ernest Holmes Towing -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Deep River Snacks -

Thursday, January 29, 2015

7-Eleven -

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Weed Eater -

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Fleurville -

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Green Screen Animals -

Thursday, January 1, 2015

CLYNK -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Birds Eye Frozen Foods -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Izze Beverage Co. -

Monday, December 8, 2014

Izze Beverage Company -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

CuteTools -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

NCR Cash Registers -

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

David Barton Gym -

Monday, December 1, 2014

KitchenAid

cochraneinvention

When servants chipped her dinnerware, this lady DID something about it. Learn how a 19th century socialite invented the dishwasher – and became a female business tycoon.

What they do:
Created the first mechanical dishwasher.

Inspiration:
Josephine Cochrane was a wealthy socialite with a problem- when her servants washed the dishes, they were chipping the china that had been in her family since the 17th century. But, at the time, there was no better way to clean dishes. So she invented one: the dishwasher.

About the business:
Cochrane drew up some ideas on paper and took to the shed behind her house. She took careful measurements of her dishes and built compartments for them inside a wheel in a copper boiler. She added some water, soap, and a motor, and the first successful dishwasher was born. Cochrane soon founded the Garis-Cochran Dish-Washing Machine Company, and got some of her machines in the Chicago World’s Fair. The company eventually became Kitchen Aid, and the rest is history.

Related Posts: