February 25, 2017

Latest Stories:

Brain Sentry -

Thursday, September 3, 2015

The Chicago Bears -

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

SpaceX -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Duncan YoYo -

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The Childproof Container -

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Dick’s Sporting Goods -

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Smule -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Ernest Holmes Towing -

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Deep River Snacks -

Thursday, January 29, 2015

7-Eleven -

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Weed Eater -

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Fleurville -

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Green Screen Animals -

Thursday, January 1, 2015

CLYNK -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Birds Eye Frozen Foods -

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Izze Beverage Co. -

Monday, December 8, 2014

Izze Beverage Company -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

CuteTools -

Thursday, December 4, 2014

NCR Cash Registers -

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

David Barton Gym -

Monday, December 1, 2014

Velcro

velcro

A hunting trip in the Alps inspired one of the world’s most unique inventions. Learn how burrs on clothing — and a dog — led to the billion-dollar success of Velcro.

What they do:
Make hook and loop fasteners for hundreds of uses.

Inspiration:
Swiss engineer George de Mestral returned from a hunting trip when he noticed pesky little burrs sticking to his jacket, socks, and even his dog. He put the burrs under a microscope and noticed they had tiny hooks which caught on the loops of his wool coat. That’s when he got the big idea to replicate nature with similar hook and loop fasteners.

About the business:
Today, the Velcro brand of hook and loop fasteners has hundreds of uses and is found world wide. They’re used in everything from medical equipment to automobile interiors and even in NASA’s Space shuttle.

Related Posts: